200 years of tradition
Castello - Number one imported havarti - Authentic Danish Heritage
Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association Announces 2020-2021 Board of Directors

Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association Announces 2020-2021 Board of Directors

Tuesday, June 23rd, 2020

What better way to honor industry operators than to welcome them into the fold of a well-respected trade association? The Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association (WCMA) has done just this with its latest announcement naming new officers and new members for the 2020-2021 Board of Directors, with terms beginning July 1.

John Umhoefer, Executive Director, Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association“WCMA’s Board of Directors has been active and fully engaged as our association addressed industry-specific challenges due to the coronavirus pandemic,” said Executive Director John Umhoefer. “As our new year begins, we’ll have new perspectives to help us build on our current programming and better serve our members.”

Dave Buholzer of Klondike Cheese Company, Monroe, Wisconsin, will return as Board President for his second year. Steve Bechel of Eau Galle Cheese Factory in Durand, Wisconsin, will return as First Vice President; Doug Wilke of Valley Queen Cheese Factory in Milbank, South Dakota, will join the executive team as Second Vice President; Mike Neu of Chr. Hansen in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, will return as Treasurer; and Greg Siegenthaler of Grande Cheese Company, Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, will return as Secretary.

First row, pictured: Dave Buholzer, Steve Bechel, and Doug Wilke; second row, pictured: Mike Neu and Greg Siegenthaler

According to a press release, four industry leaders are joining the WCMA Board, including: Jeff Gentine of Masters Gallery Foods, in Plymouth, Wisconsin; Richard Guggisberg of Guggisberg Cheese in Millersburg, Ohio; Chris Renard of Renard’s Cheese, Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin; and Bruce Workman of Edelweiss Creamery in Monticello, Wisconsin.

The 2020-21 Board of Directors also includes:

  • Brian Baker of Baker Cheese, St. Cloud, WI
  • Craig Filkouski of Great Lakes Cheese Company, Hiram, OH
  • Gary Gosda of Lake Country Dairy/Schuman Cheese, Turtle Lake, WI
  • Mike Hinrichsen of AMPI, New Ulm, MN
  • Randy LaGrander of LaGrander’s Hillside Dairy, Stanley, WI
  • Linda Lee of Prairie Farms Dairy, Carlinville, IL
  • Craig Linz of Tetra Pak, Inc., Winsted, MN
  • Tim Omer of Emmi Roth USA, Fitchburg, WI
  • Paul Scharfman of Specialty Cheese Company, Reeseville, WI
  • Mike Sipple of Agropur Inc., Appleton, WI
  • Mark Witke of Zimmerman Cheese, Wiota, WI
  • Tayt Wuethrich of Grassland Dairy Products, Inc., Greenwood, WI

The WCMA Board of Directors expresses its appreciation to directors retiring from the Board this year who served the maximum term limit of six years: Chris Sandretti of Saputo Cheese USA, Milwaukee, WI; Jim Bleick of Graf Creamery, Bonduel, WI; Jeff Wideman of Maple Leaf Cheese Co-op, Monroe, WI; and Ken Meyers of MCT Dairies, Inc., Millburn, NJ.

Congratulations to all of the new and returning WCMA leaders!

Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association