Crafting Cheese for Four Generations
Schuman Cheese - Custom orders. Flexible solutions. Reliably excellent cheese.
WCMA to Hold 2020 Recognition Award

WCMA to Hold 2020 Recognition Award

Wednesday, July 10th, 2019

Calling all cheesemakers, collaborators, and contributors! WCMA has announced this year’s Recognition Awards enrollment period for 2020. WCMA members have through Friday, August 16 to make recommendations in four, distinct categories that make up what is what I personally believe to be one of the best food products to come out of Wisconsin. And the States. And the rest of the world.

According to the press release, the categories and requirements are as follows:

  • WCMA Cheese Industry Champion—Given to industry leaders who have created tremendous opportunity for others and spurred industry growth. People to be considered are the CEOs, Directors, Presidents, and Vice Presidents of their companies who may not have cheesemaking obligations but lead and direct resources.
  • WCMA Distinguished Service Award—Given to supplier partner members who have played a significant role in building the success of the United States dairy industry and contributing innovations in dairy manufacturing.
  • WCMA Vanguard Award—Given to cheesemakers or cheese manufacturing employees who are considered groundbreakers for their innovations in day-to-day dairy operations.
  • WCMA Babcock Award—Given to those in education or affiliate organizations to partner with cheesemakers in the pursuit of dairy industry innovation and excellence.

To nominate, WCMA members can enter a submission to by August 16. Considerations will be conducted in September while the winners will be awarded and presented at 2020 CheeseExpo, set for April 14-16 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

WCMA has announced this year’s Recognition Awards enrollment period for 2020

2019 victors were: Dave Fuhrmann of Foremost Farms USA and Lou Gentine of Sargento Foods for Cheese Industry Champion; Joe and John Koss of Koss Industrial and Ron Kremer of Kerry for Distinguished Service; Dale Baumgartner of Tillamook Creamery and Terry Lensmire of Agropur for the Vanguard Award; and Dr. Rusty Bishop of Schreiber Foods and Dr. John Lucey of the Center for Dairy Research for the Babcock Award.

Stay tuned with Deli Market News as we eagerly await who this year’s champions are going to be.